Category 4: OBC (Other Backward Communities)

Category 4: OBC (Other Backward Communities)

Seats Allocated: 27%

Applicants belonging to any of the following castes (included in the list of Other Backward Communities in the State of Goa) shall be eligible under this category, on production of a Caste certificate from a Competent Authority, provided he/she belongs to the non-creamy layer of OBC community as defined by the State/Central Government, meets all other conditions of residence under the General Category and he/she or his/her forefathers belong to Goa or have  migrated to Goa before 16th February, 1968. 

List of Other Backward Communities

  1. Bhandari Naik
  2. Christian Barber
  3. Christian Mahar 
  4. Vishwakarma/Chari/Mesta
  5. Dhangar 
  6. Dhobi 
  7. Gosavi
  8. Koli
  9. Kharvi (I/C Christian Kharvi)
  10. Kalaikar/Black Smith/Tin Smith 
  11. Kumbhar (I/C Christian Kumbhar)
  12. Mahalo
  13. Madval (I/C Christian Dhobi) 
  14. Nabhik
  15. Nai
  16. Napit 
  17. Nathjogi
  18. Nhavi
  19. Pagui/Gabit
  20. Rajak
  21. Satarkar
  22. Shimpi
  23. Thakar
  24. Teli
  25. Christian Renders
  26. Komarpant

Specific Documents Required:
An applicant claiming a seat reserved for OBC must produce a Caste Certificate (non-creamy layer and non-migrant) in the prescribed Proforma (Annexure I) from the Dy. Collector of the area concerned. A Certificate issued by the Village Panchayat/Mamlatdar will not be accepted.